New Artist Discovery: Ingrid Michaelson

On the drive home today, I heard a beautiful song on the radio by a female singer, with funny lyrics like “I’d buy you Rogaine if you start losing all your hair.”  I found myself humming along immediately to the catchy tune, loving the cute lyrics and had to find out who the artist was.  After a quick search on the Internet, I came across the name Ingrid Michaelson, singing the song “The Way I Am.”  Thought I’d share the song with you – the official video is really weird (with clowns and stuff), but unfortunately I was not able to find a plain vanilla video with no video (I know, it’s an oxymoron) with just the name and title. So please try to ignore the visual and focus on the music itself.

After visiting the official website, I also found her other song “Breakable,” which apparently has been used in “Grey’s Anatomy” (boy, she must have a really good agent – “The Way I Am” was recently featured in an Old Navy ad).  The video is really well-done.  I think you will enjoy it!

2 thoughts on “New Artist Discovery: Ingrid Michaelson

  1. I really liked the song as well when I first heard it on VH1 (the video is kind of bizarre though). There was an article recently in Entertainment Weekly about the resurgence of female singer-songwriter like Ingrid Michaelson. Colbie Caillat (Bubbly) is another one that recently bolted to stardom who go her start on MySpace. You should also check out Yael Naim, whose song “New Soul” is on the commercial for the Apple MacBook Air. EW also recommends checking out Jaymay, Marie Digby, Kate Voegele, among others (you can find all of them under myspace.com/their full name). Enjoy!

  2. Wow, thanks for the recommendations! I feel very out of it with these new artists. When I told my sister about Ingrid Michaelson, she questioned whether that should really be “new” since she’s already heard an interview with the artist last year. Anyhoo, can’t wait to check out the musicians you mentioned – I do love “New Soul” although it always reminds me of the MacBook Air commercial.

Leave a Reply

