A Sighting

Driving home this evening, I found myself stuck on Highway 101, forced to sit in bumper to bumper traffic. Traffic had slowed to a crawl because apparently there had been a compost fire at a Palo Alto landfill.  As I sat in my car feeling agitated over the lack of movement, out of the corner of my eye I spotted a flash of white. I quickly turned my head, and my eyes were greeted by the image of a beautiful white crane in flight, gracefully gliding across the dusky sky. I stared at the image in awe, transfixed by the unexpected beauty.  My eyes followed the crane as it flew from one side of the freeway to the other, unhurried, then slowly disappeared into a shrinking dot on the horizon.  

I was overwhelmed and moved by this sighting, like Helen Mirren’s character in “The Queen” when she encountered the magnificent buck.  Was it its evanescence that added to the mystique? Or was it the beauty that nature lavishes on us, which are often missed in our harried everyday existence?  I don’t know.  Whatever the reason, it made my day.  Its beautiful was irrepressible.

Leave a Reply

