14 Days to Go…

As the Presidential election draws near, I am filled with anticipation and excitement (and a small amount of fear, of course – it ain’t over until it’s over).  My co-worker Ms. Sunshine posed the question earlier today, “What will we obsess about after the election?”  I really don’t know.  I’m not sure there will be another event any time soon as important as the 2008 Presidential Elections in its implications for our lives and the nature’s future, possibly for generations to come.  

I have been reading (and getting) lots of politically-oriented pieces these days.  Here are a few of my favorite ones:

*Peggy Noonan’s Op-Ed piece in the Wall Street Journal, Palin’s Failin’:  The former speechwriter for Ronald Reagan dishes about the VP choice and what it reflects about the Republican Party.  Eloquently written and incisive.  I’m glad that people like her and Colin Powell are breaking ranks with the GOP.

*Speaking of Colin Powell, in his endorsement of Obama on Meet the Press on Sunday, he also noted the bigotry of the anti-Muslim sentiment in America (full discussion at Talking Points Memo, an influential political blog):

“Is there something wrong with being a Muslim in this country? The answer is no. That’s not America. Is there something wrong with a seven-year-old Muslim American kid believing he or she could be president? Yet I have heard senior members of my own party drop the suggestion that [Obama] is a Muslim and might have an association with terrorists. This is not the way we should be doing it in America.”

*Radio DJ Steve McGinnis’ piece about Why I am voting for Sen. Barack Obama.  This is written by one of LC’s (no, not Lauren Conrad) childhood friends from Philly.  Steve is a morning radio host in Detroit.  The title is self-explanatory.  I include a short excerpt below:

INSPIRATION: I want someone who inspires others and me. Never in my life have I ever seen a candidate who has been able to reach out to so many different people, from so many different backgrounds and generations and inspire a movement dedicated to bring positive change in a time when our nation needs it the most. In a cheap ploy to discount the huge crowds Obama attracts, much was made of his “celebrity.” But Obama is famous and beloved because he speaks to people’s hearts. He talks about our deepest values and asks us to be better people. This is something we respond to in a much bigger way than “I’m going to cut your taxes.” He speaks to young people and people of all colors like no other politician out there. I want that inspiration and hope.

I hope that Obama will keep his promise to bring change to America and foster a new generation of voters who are not jaded – who can believe their roles in shaping the future. 

Rock the Vote!

Oh yeah, I love Joe Biden’s response to the whole “Joe the Plumber” story:  He noted on the “Tonight Show” Friday that he doesn’t “know many plumbers who are making $250,000 a year and worried about it.”  “We’re kind of worried about Joe the fireman, Joe the policeman, Joe the real plumber with a license,” Biden added. As media reports have noted, Wurzelbacher does not have a plumbing license.  You can read more about this here.

7 thoughts on “14 Days to Go…

  1. I think fo rme the last draw was Palin. In my mind, Senator McCain might have turned himself from a “maverick” into a “loose cannon.” That said, I am deeply worried about how Obama might compromise Taiwan’s security given Biden’s weakness on Taiwan.

  2. Yes, I’m worried too since the Republicans have historically been stronger against China. However, I hope Obama can buck the historical trend…

    Biden has himself turned into a loose cannon these days, with all those references about an “international crisis” that will “test” Obama. @$#$%^$%?

  3. But then C3 has always cautioned me about friends who sell out Taiwan have tended to be Republican, e.g. Nixon and Reagan…. No such thing as a friend when it comes to politics. So are there other things to obsess about after the election? Have you’ll been updating yourselves with Taiwan affairs? The enovy from China is arriving today…. Bargarians at the gate!

  4. Thanks for the update! I have not been updating myself too much (other than checking on Ma Small Dog every couple of days). Hope to be fully updated before my TW trip!

Leave a Reply

