Slumdog Millionaire

It is not every day that you encounter a film that is absolutely spellbinding.  Just saw Slumdog Millionaire tonight and fell in love with it – gritty but poignant, dark yet ultimately uplifting.  It is a tale of an orphan boy, Jamal, who grew up in the slums of Mumbai but somehow ends up on the Indian version of the game show, “Who Wants to be a Millionaire,” and, as he is arrested on suspicion of cheating, the story unfolds at a frenetic pace with flashbacks of Jamal’s life.  Modern India is shown in all its glory – not only its stratified society, religious tension and urban poverty, but also its energy, resilience and ambition.  But most of all, this was a story of love and its formidable power for change and redemption (without being sappy or overly sentimental – that’s the brilliant part!).  

I have included the trailer here as a teaser:

DON’T LET THE TRAILER FOOL YOU.  This is no Bollywood song-and-dance piece.  It is very, very gritty (evil is only too real in the slums of Mumbai).  After all, Danny Boyle is the director that brought you Trainspotting, the gruesome story about heroine addiction.  There were a few moments when I had to turn away from the screen because the images were just too brutal.  But at the end of the night, I drove home, deeply satisfied, with a smile on my face.  I hope you will get the see the movie for yourself.

5 thoughts on “Slumdog Millionaire

  1. I must be one of the few people in the world who wasn’t blown away by this film. It was good, but it wasn’t spectacular like everybody is saying. I think it’s getting so much acclaim because it’s the sole Oscar contender that’s not absolutely and completely depressing.

    • Maybe you’re right. Compared to my most recent film encounter with Mumbai, “Born Into Brothels,” this is downright a Disney movie! But I think expectations also has much to do with it. I purposely avoided all discussions/reviews of this movie, basing my decision to see it solely on the lone recommendation I received from a co-worker…and voila! It was surprisingly better than I expected – I thought it’d be more “art house” and inaccessible.

      In any event, I liked it way better than Benjamin Button, which was too long by at least half an hour or more. What is the big deal there? I was so bored.

    • I feel validated too! All this critical acclaim (and Oscar buzz) is very annoying. Are people just mesmerized by the CGI? Brad Pitt did look really young and delicious…hehe.

  2. Pingback: Golden Globe Awards « Flight of the Bumblebee

Leave a Reply

