Curry Up Now!

Unless you have been living under a rock, you probably know that mobile food trucks is the latest craze to hit America.  One of the more popular trucks in San Francisco is the Indian food truck Curry Up Now, whose mission is to bring Indian street food to the masses.  I’ve always been too lazy to track the whereabouts of these elusive food trucks using Twitter or Facebook – I mean, who has the time?  Earlier in April, however, a brick-and-mortar version of Curry Up Now finally opened in my hometown of San Mateo, of all places.  Who knew we were so hip?

AK and I decided to check it out this past Saturday as an early reward for working on our budget (it’s our last free weekend before my brother visits, then we head off to France for two weeks, then I go on a work trip to Asia for another week).  Upon walking in, we were a little overwhelmed by the blackboard menu.

I was intrigued by the Kathi roll, which was an Indian-style burrito using flatbread and a thin layer of egg (genius!), with your choice of meat filling (I chose chicken).  AK ordered a “Thali” plate with 3 items.  Honestly, I have no idea what he ordered because I was a little mesmerized by the bright colors and artwork on the menu.  Our food arrived fairly quickly and looked great!

The food tasted even better than they looked!  My Kathi roll had an unexpected kick, and the spicyness gradually built up until I was gulping water every 30 seconds (granted, my tolerance has gone way down every since I stopped regularly getting kimchi-jigae at 1 a.m. after a night of drinking, but I digress).  Even though I was tearing up a little from the heat, I couldn’t stop eating because it was so delicious!  The chicken meat was well-seasoned and tender, and the flatbread was soft and pillowy.  I loved every bite!  AK appeared to enjoy his meal as well.  Due to his self-imposed low-carb diet, he was not able to eat the thin cracker “cup” that came with his plate, so more for me!

This was a very simple lunch, but we really enjoyed it.  Can’t believe it’s so close to home!  We will definitely be back.

Curry Up Now
129 S B St
San Mateo, CA 94401
(650) 477-3000
www.curryupnow.com

Leave a Reply

