Writing is a Craft

The only way to become a good writer is to write..and write…and write some more. Talent gives you a head start, but only so far (see story of The Tortoise and the Hare). Writing is a craft that needs to be continually honed — a process that, if one is truly honest, exposes vulnerabilities, challenges beliefs and exposes one’s innermost thoughts. Having been derelict in updating my blog, I know my writing skills have completely deteriorated (one can only hope not irreversibly). I can’t believe my last post was almost two years ago! Even more upsetting to me is that I never finished my travelogues for my trip to France. Somehow once I got to Paris, I ran out of steam. I can blame the iPad (the WordPress app was terrible), the lack of consistent WiFi, my training for a marathon, the constant distraction of amazing food, etc. At the end of the day, however, the real issue was that my high and perhaps unrealistic expectations turned out to be too daunting for myself. Between inserting hyperlinks, looking up restaurant locations and editing photos to make each post “perfect” and “sleek,” I lost sight of why I began to blog — to elevate the everyday, to document each experience, and to create an outlet for my writing.

So here I am, trying to get a fresh start. I have missed so many significant events and, if time permits, will try to go back and retroactively write them up. In the mean time, I am moving forward and letting go of those regrets from the past. I will write at least once a week and not care if every post is pretty.  To a new beginning!

Leave a Reply

