A Fun-Filled Sunday

My friend K decided to drive down to the Peninsula from Oakland to meet me for brunch at Alana’s Cafe in Burlingame. Although this branch does not have the same old-school charm as the Victorian house in Redwood City, it’s still a pleasant sun-filled cafe with a friendly vibe and great service. Both of us ordered the egg scramble – I chose the “Mediterranean” with prosciutto, artichoke hearts, sundried tomatoes, fresh basil and provolone cheese, and K picked the “Florentine,” which was a mix of mild Italian sausage, spinach and provolone cheese. We really enjoyed the food (I made a mental note to get some sundried tomatoes for home – the intense flavors were great) and the opportunity to catch up. It was so fun to see her!

To walk off the food, we strolled over to the Burlingame farmer’s market, where I picked up a bunch of gorgeous ranunculus for $5, and then stopped by a pet store. K wanted to pick out a few toys for her new cats, Cupcake and Honey (such adorable names!), and she carefully sorted through the inventory for “Made in the U.S.A.” labels. I had no idea that pet owners were so conscientious these days. Apparently it’s for safety reasons – there has been a spate of unsafe products manufactured overseas, and she didn’t want to take any chances. I have to keep that in mind next time I pick up a new toy for my mom’s dog Commie.

After we parted ways, I swung by Heidi’s Pies to pick up a dessert (blueberry sour cream pie, the best thing at Heidi’s) for the Game of Thrones viewing party tonight in San Francisco. This week’s host is M, and she and her husband really cooked up a feast! We started with a trio of cheeses and baguette, paired with an array of wines and beverages. The meal began with a corn and tomato salad that was very refreshing and tasty – I especially enjoyed the dressing made with fresh dill, and the main entrees of braised beef and tilapia in honey mustard sauce were both big hits as well. As it turns out, M loves cooking and is a huge fan of Ina Garten (the Barefoot Contessa), so we excitedly shared some of our experiences cooking her recipes. It’s so inspiring to meet other home cooks who enjoy the process, especially since sometimes I feel like I’m just throwing my life away in the kitchen…The enthusiasm of others can be very infectious.
It was quite a fun weekend filled with time among friends (and good food), despite having to rush around a bit. Now I’m ready for the week to begin and for me to start “working” again (mostly on my personal priorities, like reorganizing the kitchen and streamlining our finances).

Heidi’s Pies
1941 S El Camino Real
San Mateo, CA 94403
(650) 574-0505
http://www.heidipies.com

Leave a Reply

