Greens Restaurant

Several years ago, when my cousin TT was visiting from Taiwan, we combined a trip to Muir Woods with dining at Greens, a vegetarian restaurant located at the northernmost tip of San Francisco overlooking the water. I remember the outing fondly. I had taken the day off from work, and, in the middle of the workday, we sat around leisurely and watched the yachts come and go outside the floor-to-ceiling windows. It was pure luxury. After our hike at Muir Woods earlier in the day, I convinced AK to give Greens a try, and he surprised me by agreeing.

For appetizers, I started off with a cream of cauliflower soup, and AK had the grilled polenta cakes. Both were nice, but nothing spectacular.

Greens - SoupGreens - Polenta Cakes

The main dishes were much better. On my prior visit I had ordered the mesquite grilled brochette, which consisted of skewered vegetables with chimichurra sauce. It was tasty this time again. AK’s entree of wild mushroom risotto was delicious, if not memorable, as well.

Greens - Brochette

Greens - Risotto

I really respect what Greens is trying to do, sourcing and showcasing organic, local and sustainable produce from small family farms and their own garden in Marin. However, for the price – our check with tax and tip exceeded $80 (without wine!) – I expected the meal to make my taste buds dance. They were not dancing that night. It didn’t help that we got here after dark, so the scenery could not make up for the lack of exciting flavors. Maybe this is a better place to come during the day for the views.

Greens Restaurant
Fort Mason
Bldg A
San Francisco, CA 94123
(415) 771-6222
http://www.greensrestaurant.com

Leave a Reply

